# Saturday, 23 August 2014

When you install Visual Studio, you are prompted to opt into a program to help improve Visual Studio. If you answer “Yes”, Visual Studio will send information back to Microsoft about errors that occur and features that are used. The information is sent during installation and later during your normal course of using Visual Studio. The Visual Studio team uses this information to learn how their product is used, how often the product is used, and where errors are occurring. All this information is helpful as they improve the product.

If you have already installed Visual Studio, you can select from the menu:
Help | Customer Feedback Options

The following dialog (Fig. 1) displays:

image

Fig. 1

Click the radio button next to "Yes I am willing to participate" and click the [OK] button.

Of course, you can also opt out of the program by selecting the “No” radio button, but then you are not helping to improve the product. Those who opt out of this often do so because they fear for their privacy; but no personal information is transmitted, You can read about the privacy of your information here.

Microsoft makes it easy for you to share information about Visual Studio usage because they want this information to help to improve Visual Studio.