# Tuesday, July 2, 2019

GitHub provides a good way to create and manage source code repository.

But, how do you delete a repository when you no longer need it? I found this to be non-intuitive when I needed to delete one.

Here are the steps.

Log into GitHub and open your repository, as shown in Fig. 1.

dr01-repo
Fig. 1

Click the [Settings] tab (Fig. 2) near the top of the page.

dr02-SettingsButton
Fig. 2

The "Settings" page displays, as shown in Fig. 3

dr03-SettingsPage
Fig. 3

Scroll to the "Danger Zone" section at the bottom of the "Settings" page, as shown in Fig. 4.

dr04-DangerZone
Fig. 4

Click the [Delete this repository] button.

A confirmation popup (Fig. 5) displays, warning you that this action cannot be undone (which is why it is in the Danger Zone).

dr05-AreYouSure
Fig. 5

If you are sure you want to delete this repository, type the repository name in the textbox and click the [I understand the consequences, delete this repository] button.

If all goes well, a confirmation message displays indicating that your repository was successfully deleted, as shown in Fig. 6.

dr06-Confirmation
Fig. 6

Congratulations! Your repository is no more! It is an ex-repository!

Tuesday, July 2, 2019 9:55:00 AM (GMT Daylight Time, UTC+01:00)